4WebHelp
 FAQ  •  Search  •  User Groups  •  Forum Admins  •  Smilies List  •  Statistics  •  Rules   •  Login   •  Register
Toggle Navigation Menu

 Building a site with php
Post New TopicReply to Topic
View Previous Topic Print this topic View Next Topic
Author Message
webgirly
Junior WebHelper
Junior WebHelper


Joined: 13 Feb 2003
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2003 2:57 pm (14 years, 8 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

I'm new to this and want to know how to build my site using php. A site very much like this one, or http://www.hellmouth-hyperion.com/specialstuff

My navigational menu footer menu is quite detailed and needs upating frequently so I want to use php to solve the problem of having to edit every single page... I get the feeling it kinda works like frames? But I'm not sure... if anyone could take a look at my site and give me some ideas on how to write the script I'd be very grateful, at the moment I'm stuck in the thought that it works like frames, perhaps that's why I'm having trouble getting my head around it.... Embarassed

Thanks in advance...
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by webgirlySend Personal Message
jayant
Team Member



Joined: 07 Jan 2002
Posts: 262
Location: New Delhi, India

PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2003 3:33 pm (14 years, 8 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

You wish to update the page there at:
http://www.hellmouth-hyperion.com/specialstuff
??

If yes take a look at pMachine ( http://www.pmachine.com ) and MT ( http://www.movabletype.org )

________________________________
Jayant Kumar
Member of the 4WebHelp Team
Nibble Guru - Computing Queries Demystified
GZip/ Page Compression Test
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by jayantSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's WebsiteYahoo MessengerMSN Messenger
webgirly
Junior WebHelper
Junior WebHelper


Joined: 13 Feb 2003
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2003 3:38 pm (14 years, 8 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

well, I want to make it easier to update the navi menu on each page without having to go to each page and change it manually...
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by webgirlySend Personal Message
Darren
Team Member



Joined: 05 Feb 2002
Posts: 549
Location: London

PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2003 3:51 pm (14 years, 8 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Well you could use:
Code:
<?
include ("navigation.php");
?>

where you want it to appear in each file. Where 'navigation.php' was the file that contained your menu. In that respect it works like frames
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by DarrenSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's Website
webgirly
Junior WebHelper
Junior WebHelper


Joined: 13 Feb 2003
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2003 4:40 pm (14 years, 8 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

So does the included page have to be php? *blush* sorry, I know I'm being dim....
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by webgirlySend Personal Message
Daniel
Team Member



Joined: 06 Jan 2002
Posts: 2564

PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2003 4:48 pm (14 years, 8 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

No, it doesn't have to be PHP. However you'll probably be adding some PHP in there some day, when your knowledge of PHP gets better Smile.

________________________________
Image
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by DanielSend Personal Message
webgirly
Junior WebHelper
Junior WebHelper


Joined: 13 Feb 2003
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2003 5:06 pm (14 years, 8 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Well, I'm having a little test play... I have a site made with frames, so I've tried to set up a site using a table to set out everything, and I've inserted the php include code to create the site.. does that make sense?
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by webgirlySend Personal Message
Darren
Team Member



Joined: 05 Feb 2002
Posts: 549
Location: London

PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2003 5:09 pm (14 years, 8 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

sounds Ok so far. Very Happy
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by DarrenSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's Website
Display posts from previous:      
Post New TopicReply to Topic
View Previous Topic Print this topic View Next Topic


 Jump to:   




You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.


Page generation time: 0.049028 seconds :: 17 queries executed :: All Times are GMT
Powered by phpBB 2.0 © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: Based on an FI Theme