Author |
Message |
Justin
4WebHelp Addict

Joined: 07 Jan 2002
Posts: 1060
|
Posted:
Wed Jul 10, 2002 11:17 am (22 years, 9 months ago) |
  |
Really good, after about 30 page views on this forum, the only ad's I get at the bottom are :
Idya Adsystem
Text Ads on your site!
Idya Adsystem
4webhelp.net
Need help with your site? Look no further!
Idya Adsystem
Self Promoting for members of the team only is it? |
|
|
     |
 |
Darren
Team Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2002
Posts: 549
Location: London
|
Posted:
Wed Jul 10, 2002 11:24 am (22 years, 9 months ago) |
  |
I presume it uses some kind of Random function.
I had this problem on my site where I wanted to choose ranndomly between 5 different graphics. But the random function would always bias towards one particular option. It did pick the other options but only very rarely. I did manage to fix it though.
It was working OK before |
|
|
     |
 |
Daniel
Team Member


Joined: 06 Jan 2002
Posts: 2564
|
Posted:
Wed Jul 10, 2002 11:30 am (22 years, 9 months ago) |
  |
Ask Jayant about it, he's working on it. |
________________________________
 |
|
    |
 |
Darren
Team Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2002
Posts: 549
Location: London
|
Posted:
Wed Jul 10, 2002 11:48 am (22 years, 9 months ago) |
  |
For me this kept returning biased results
Code: | $number = rand(1, 5); |
I don't no what difference it makes declaring the variable first, but this works perfectly
Code: | $number = "";
$number = rand(1, 5); |
|
|
|
     |
 |
Daniel
Team Member


Joined: 06 Jan 2002
Posts: 2564
|
Posted:
Wed Jul 10, 2002 2:59 pm (22 years, 9 months ago) |
  |
AFAIK, Jayant is using the time to generate the results. I'll ask him about it. |
________________________________
 |
|
    |
 |
jayant
Team Member


Joined: 07 Jan 2002
Posts: 262
Location: New Delhi, India
|
Posted:
Wed Jul 10, 2002 3:32 pm (22 years, 9 months ago) |
  |
ok. here it goes:
Algorithm:
Choses random ad.
if no ad is available it shows defualt 4webhelp.net or idya adsystem ad.
but idya adsystem ad is displayed only once in 50 times. basically proportion kept at 49:1 (for 4webhelp : idya)
NOW.
read this:
It was decided to give one ad for one post.
The stats are not being displayed. maybe thats why you think ads are not being displayed. but you must note : only around 4800 posts at the forum so only 4800 ads were displayed. those got finished in 2-3 days.
we are working on the new ratio. i.e one post will fetch 5 or 10 ads instead of current one
you also suggest the ratio. we dont want the ratio to be too high neigther do we want default ads being displayed. so just tell us the ratio you will like to have.
if you want to look at the stats of your ad. tell me. I will ad them in your profile or maybe some where else. |
________________________________ Jayant Kumar
Member of the 4WebHelp Team
Nibble Guru - Computing Queries Demystified
GZip/ Page Compression Test |
|
       |
 |
jayant
Team Member


Joined: 07 Jan 2002
Posts: 262
Location: New Delhi, India
|
Posted:
Wed Jul 10, 2002 3:39 pm (22 years, 9 months ago) |
  |
Code: |
mt_srand ((double) microtime() * 1000000);
$randval = mt_rand(0,mysql_num_rows($query)-1);
|
If you lookup in PHP documentation. You will find that this is the best possible rand number generator which is totally un-biased (well almost 99.5+%) |
________________________________ Jayant Kumar
Member of the 4WebHelp Team
Nibble Guru - Computing Queries Demystified
GZip/ Page Compression Test |
|
       |
 |
jayant
Team Member


Joined: 07 Jan 2002
Posts: 262
Location: New Delhi, India
|
Posted:
Wed Jul 10, 2002 3:54 pm (22 years, 9 months ago) |
  |
|
       |
 |
Daniel
Team Member


Joined: 06 Jan 2002
Posts: 2564
|
Posted:
Thu Jul 11, 2002 6:51 am (22 years, 9 months ago) |
  |
It's already like that AFAIK. |
________________________________
 |
|
    |
 |
Darren
Team Member


Joined: 05 Feb 2002
Posts: 549
Location: London
|
Posted:
Thu Jul 11, 2002 6:59 am (22 years, 9 months ago) |
  |
What about having a special bonus number of ads whenever someone reaches a new rank?
Don't know why I'm suggesting that, its not like anyone here is going to be intereted in a site about fancy rats anyway!  |
|
|
     |
 |
verto
Senior WebHelper


Joined: 14 Jan 2002
Posts: 220
Location: Cambridge MA USA
|
Posted:
Thu Jul 11, 2002 2:21 pm (22 years, 9 months ago) |
  |
someone check the targeting code -- the popups are redirecting the window that opens them as well.
for Justin's Bluesweb I'm getting four windows (good for traffic, eh, Justin ?) |
________________________________ >>>>>>>>>>>>>
GENERAL DISCLAIMER:This disclaimer may be void where null in all cases unless explicitly not unprohibited or (p)re-exclusively assigned by sufficient presedimentation on behalf of every non-interested party to wit (or so it was said).
:::
.: :. . : :....: :.: .: :. verto .: :. . : :....: :.: .: :. |
|
    |
 |
jayant
Team Member


Joined: 07 Jan 2002
Posts: 262
Location: New Delhi, India
|
Posted:
Thu Jul 11, 2002 5:57 pm (22 years, 9 months ago) |
  |
verto wrote: | someone check the targeting code -- the popups are redirecting the window that opens them as well.
for Justin's Bluesweb I'm getting four windows (good for traffic, eh, Justin ?) |
I wasnt comepletly a coding error. but wanted to do maximum things with minimal code
so what happened was I linked the cell and the link to the site one had the target defined. for other target couldn't be defined in that minimal code  |
________________________________ Jayant Kumar
Member of the 4WebHelp Team
Nibble Guru - Computing Queries Demystified
GZip/ Page Compression Test |
|
       |
 |
verto
Senior WebHelper


Joined: 14 Jan 2002
Posts: 220
Location: Cambridge MA USA
|
Posted:
Thu Jul 11, 2002 6:42 pm (22 years, 9 months ago) |
  |
looks like you took out the 'target' altogether ...
now it links right through... and no popups at all
i'd guess that's the simplest and best fix if you can't change them individually
don't know whether Justin will like that,
but lots cleaner, anyway --  |
________________________________ >>>>>>>>>>>>>
GENERAL DISCLAIMER:This disclaimer may be void where null in all cases unless explicitly not unprohibited or (p)re-exclusively assigned by sufficient presedimentation on behalf of every non-interested party to wit (or so it was said).
:::
.: :. . : :....: :.: .: :. verto .: :. . : :....: :.: .: :. |
|
    |
 |
Justin
4WebHelp Addict

Joined: 07 Jan 2002
Posts: 1060
|
Posted:
Sun Jul 14, 2002 6:27 pm (22 years, 9 months ago) |
  |
Just made a new post, I still only get the default ad's, whats going on? |
|
|
     |
 |
verto
Senior WebHelper


Joined: 14 Jan 2002
Posts: 220
Location: Cambridge MA USA
|
Posted:
Sun Jul 14, 2002 8:14 pm (22 years, 9 months ago) |
  |
If the default ads are the ones for 4WebHelp, then I can back that up.
Right now, no matter how many times I reload, I get two ads that both say: Quote: | "4WebHelp, Need help with your site? Look no further!, Idya Adsystem" |
Also, I'm not sure I see the point of having ads that just relink to this same site. It actually seems pretty idiotic, although I'm sure there's some kind of rationale behind it.  |
________________________________ >>>>>>>>>>>>>
GENERAL DISCLAIMER:This disclaimer may be void where null in all cases unless explicitly not unprohibited or (p)re-exclusively assigned by sufficient presedimentation on behalf of every non-interested party to wit (or so it was said).
:::
.: :. . : :....: :.: .: :. verto .: :. . : :....: :.: .: :. |
|
    |
 |
|