4WebHelp
 FAQ  •  Search  •  User Groups  •  Forum Admins  •  Smilies List  •  Statistics  •  Rules   •  Login   •  Register
Toggle Navigation Menu

Looking for PHP link+variable modifier script
View Previous Topic Print this topic View Next Topic
Zealot Zachary
Junior WebHelper
Junior WebHelper

PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2004 10:57 pm (19 years, 3 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Hello! as wel as new to the site, I'm also new to php. Riht now while trying to expand my knowledge im trying to create a website built on php using only one page, index.php. The over all idea would be that that would be the layout and the content would be a text or php file that would loaded by include="&content.txt" and the &content should be modified when clicking on a link, which I have no idea how to code, please help me!

edit:nevermind, i figured it out the code i used was

for the link
Code:
<a href="index.php?content=drawing">

for the content
Code:
<?php
if ($content == "drawing")
{include('drawing.txt');}
else
{include('index.txt');}
?>

for anyone that cares

edit2: is there anyway to do this without constantly updating the site, as in variable read by include
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by Zealot ZacharySend Personal Message
Darren
Team Member

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 11:58 am (19 years, 3 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

This should do it:
include($content . ".txt");

although it would probably be an idea to check whether such a file actually exists incase the query string is accidently altered/missing etc. Give this a go...

Code:
$filename = (isset($_GET['content'])) ? $_GET['content'] : "index";

$include_file = $filename.".txt";

if(file_exists($include_file))
{
   include($include_file);
} else {
   echo "Sorry, there is no page of that name.");   
}

Assuming I didn't make any mistakes this should do the following: