4WebHelp
 FAQ  •  Search  •  User Groups  •  Forum Admins  •  Smilies List  •  Statistics  •  Rules   •  Login   •  Register
Toggle Navigation Menu

 Possible to retrieve form data without submitting?
Post New TopicReply to Topic
View Previous Topic Print this topic View Next Topic
Author Message
Stuart
Junior WebHelper
Junior WebHelper


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 2
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 5:58 pm (13 years, 1 month ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

I would like to construct a URL with attached form variables so that I can pass form variables to the next page without using the Submit button.

This all has to do with the use of CSS to create mouseover buttons. Surrounding the Submit button with an empty hyperlink tag lets me use the pseudo class a:hover to switch images and I can make the actual Submit button invisible.

This works fine in IE, but not in Netscape or Mozilla, both of which ignore the Submit button's action in favour of the blank URL surrounding it!

Therefore I want to eliminate the need for the 'built-in' Submit button and create my own version with mouseover graphics.

So, after all that, how can I capture the value from a Select box within that page and without reloading the page? Is it possible with PHP alone as I'm not keen to rely on Javascript?

Thanks.

________________________________
Stuart Clark
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by StuartSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's Website
adam
Forum Moderator & Developer



Joined: 26 Jul 2002
Posts: 704
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 6:01 pm (13 years, 1 month ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

You would almost certainly need to use Javascript, as to use PHP the data would first need to be submitted. I'm not an expert on this, but I found these on Google:

________________________________
It's turtles all the way down...
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by adamSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's Website
Stuart
Junior WebHelper
Junior WebHelper


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 2
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 10:21 pm (13 years, 1 month ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Many thanks, Adam. Today (with the benefit of having slept!) I realised the impossibility of what I was asking. I was resigned to having to use Javascript but now you have given me an alternative as for my application I won't have reset buttons! Very Happy

________________________________
Stuart Clark
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by StuartSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's Website
Display posts from previous:      
Post New TopicReply to Topic
View Previous Topic Print this topic View Next Topic


 Jump to:   




You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.


Page generation time: 8.13603 seconds :: 18 queries executed :: All Times are GMT
Powered by phpBB 2.0 © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: Based on an FI Theme