4WebHelp
 FAQ  •  Search  •  User Groups  •  Forum Admins  •  Smilies List  •  Statistics  •  Rules   •  Login   •  Register
Toggle Navigation Menu

A 'simple' guestbook - help!
View Previous Topic Print this topic View Next Topic
Mike Wah
Junior WebHelper
Junior WebHelper

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2004 10:40 pm (20 years ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Hi

I'm a complete novice at this stuff. I've picked up the Guestbook 1.5 from proxy.de and thought I had configured it all nicely...but whenever I click submit on the addentry form I get "internal server error".

I know it must be something to do with the guestbook.pl script but I simply can't work out what.

This is the 4th script I have tried from different sources and all of them seem to be stuck on the same point - so I'm obviously missing something completely. I only want to run a simple message board but I don't want to have to do a redirect to a hosted one full of adverts and which looks completely different to the rest of my site.

Short of posting the whole script, I'd be enormously grateful if you any thoughts about what it is I'm likely to be doing wrong.

Cheers,
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by Mike WahSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's Website
Daniel
Team Member

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2004 5:11 pm (20 years ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

- Are all the Perl scripts CHMODed to 755?
- Did you upload them in ASCII mode (setting in your FTP client)? Some clients set this automatically, but some may not.

Junior WebHelper
Junior WebHelper

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2004 6:45 pm (20 years ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Hi Daniel - thanks for replying!

I did upload the cgi-bin folder in ASCII and CHMODed it to

User: Read Write Execute
Group: Read Execute
Other: Read Execute (though I keep finding it changes to Write Execute)