4WebHelp
 FAQ  •  Search  •  User Groups  •  Forum Admins  •  Smilies List  •  Statistics  •  Rules   •  Login   •  Register
Toggle Navigation Menu

 Photoshop, Dreamweaver, Illustrator
Post New TopicReply to Topic
View Previous Topic Print this topic View Next Topic
Author Message
alien-embryo
Junior WebHelper
Junior WebHelper


Joined: 07 Oct 2003
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2003 12:14 am (14 years ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

I have a question to all you pro's here Smile


I haven't put together a site yet, i'm still working with the layout in AP7. My question is what is the most efficient way of working with your layout before you go into something like Dreamweaver?

So far i've been laying out the basic desine of the page in layers moving them around, colour coordinating etc, putting in text just to get the idea of how things will fit. Now say i'm finished how I like it, how do I start to move the pieces into a webdesign program? Do I cut up everything in sections and try to fit them together ? Or flatten the immage and cut them up in dreamweaver.


One other question is is it better to make your layout with illustrator which is vector bassed as opposed to photoshop? I assumed illustrator was more for designing logos that your going to print but i'm wondering if it's widely used for the actual design of sites or not.

Thx in advice for any tips, btw hi i'm new to the board Smile
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by alien-embryoSend Personal MessageSend email
Darren
Team Member



Joined: 05 Feb 2002
Posts: 549
Location: London

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2003 7:44 am (14 years ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Personally I use Photoshop to slice up the graphics. I'm usually thinking about how it will be chopped up from early on. If the layout is a bit more complex I'll probably just sketch out the necessary table structure on paper. Photoshop does have special tools for slicing graphics, but I just do it by hand - creating selections with a marquee and then using 'Copy Merged' which copies multiple layers without the need to flatten the layers. then paste it into a new doc which will be automatically created at the size of the selection.

I don't think Illustrator is a better way of creating the layout, its just a different way (that I never got on with Wink ). I guess its down to the way you prefer working. You can have vector shapes in Photoshop as well.

hope that helps

p.s. welcome to the forum Very Happy
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by DarrenSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's Website
alien-embryo
Junior WebHelper
Junior WebHelper


Joined: 07 Oct 2003
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2003 9:34 pm (14 years ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

thx for the tip, guess i'll have to experiment a bit. I'd like to be able to take my whole layout with all the layers to DW and be able to work with them there, i'll try what you mentioned about copy merge.
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by alien-embryoSend Personal MessageSend email
Display posts from previous:      
Post New TopicReply to Topic
View Previous Topic Print this topic View Next Topic


 Jump to:   




You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.


Page generation time: 0.053293 seconds :: 18 queries executed :: All Times are GMT
Powered by phpBB 2.0 © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: Based on an FI Theme