4WebHelp
 FAQ  •  Search  •  User Groups  •  Forum Admins  •  Smilies List  •  Statistics  •  Rules   •  Login   •  Register
Toggle Navigation Menu

 Testing Needed: phpBB IP Converter
Post New TopicReply to Topic
View Previous Topic Print this topic View Next Topic
Author Message
Daniel
Team Member



Joined: 06 Jan 2002
Posts: 2564

PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2003 5:07 pm (14 years, 6 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Hi,

Could people who have a phpBB board please test this online tool please?

http://www.4webhelp.net/us/phpbb_ip.php

phpBB IP Converter wrote:
To save on database space, phpBB encodes IPs before inserting them into the database. This means that when you are viewing the "posts" table in your database, you will not be able to directly know which IP the user posted from. This script will convert a phpBB encoded IP to a standard IP, and provide a hostname where available.


For those who don't, you can still test it to see if the error checking works (empty fields, wierd input - with apostrophes for example) Very Happy.

Thanks,

Daniel

________________________________
Image

Last edited by Daniel on Sun Jun 08, 2003 2:31 pm, edited 1 time in total
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by DanielSend Personal Message
SfCommand
Senior WebHelper
Senior WebHelper


Joined: 10 Nov 2002
Posts: 143
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2003 5:30 pm (14 years, 6 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Hey Daniel, that seems to work ok. I've tried a few IPs, both phpBB encoded ones to normal, and back again, and normal to phpBB encoded and back again.

________________________________
Miguel

http://community.34sp.com
http://www.miguel.me.uk | http://www.sfcommand.co.uk | http://www.ssdg.org.uk
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by SfCommandSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's Website
Darren
Team Member



Joined: 05 Feb 2002
Posts: 549
Location: London

PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2003 7:23 am (14 years, 6 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Looks OK to me Very Happy I can't break it.
got appropriate error messages when I tried doing things wrong.

you might consider making the text box sizes slightly more than the max length values - just a little cramped.

I don't know whether its worth checking that a normal IP is entered in the correct format - probably not Laughing
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by DarrenSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's Website
Daniel
Team Member



Joined: 06 Jan 2002
Posts: 2564

PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2003 4:50 pm (14 years, 6 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Darren wrote:
I don't know whether its worth checking that a normal IP is entered in the correct format - probably not Laughing


I thought of that but then if they feel like wasting their time... Very Happy

Darren wrote:
you might consider making the text box sizes slightly more than the max length values - just a little cramped.


Done.

________________________________
Image
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by DanielSend Personal Message
Display posts from previous:      
Post New TopicReply to Topic
View Previous Topic Print this topic View Next Topic


 Jump to:   




You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.


Page generation time: 0.057113 seconds :: 18 queries executed :: All Times are GMT
Powered by phpBB 2.0 © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: Based on an FI Theme