4WebHelp
 FAQ  •  Search  •  User Groups  •  Forum Admins  •  Smilies List  •  Statistics  •  Rules   •  Login   •  Register
Toggle Navigation Menu

 Browsing in 16 colours... (!)
Post New TopicReply to Topic
View Previous Topic Print this topic View Next Topic
Author Message
Daniel
Team Member



Joined: 06 Jan 2002
Posts: 2564

PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2003 4:04 pm (14 years, 7 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

This morning, I turned on my PC, and all I got was a blank screen. I called the screen manufacturer, iiyama, and they will have it replaced within a few days. However, impatient as I am, I wondered if I could use an old 16 colour PC screen on this PC (it came with a 386 Compaq PC Laughing).

To my astonishment, it worked, although using a PC with 16 colours is painful. Not to mention the fact that it's running 640x480 Sad. Now I feel for the people who are permanently on such resolutions! Scrolling becomes a regular occurence Very Happy.

So don't expect much out of me for the next few days - I'd rather preserve my sanity. This tiny screen makes me go crazy! (not sure what size it is - probably 12" and I had a 19" before Smile).

________________________________
Image
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by DanielSend Personal Message
adam
Forum Moderator & Developer



Joined: 26 Jul 2002
Posts: 704
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2003 5:33 pm (14 years, 7 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

can ya give us a few screenshots of some different sites?

________________________________
It's turtles all the way down...
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by adamSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's Website
Justin
4WebHelp Addict
4WebHelp Addict


Joined: 07 Jan 2002
Posts: 1060

PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2003 5:42 pm (14 years, 7 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

LOL, I had one of them! I remember starting a thread about the same thing ages ago, you might be able to find it if you search!

I have an LG 17" Flatron, better than Illyama stuff any day! Smile
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by JustinSend Personal MessageSend email
Daniel
Team Member



Joined: 06 Jan 2002
Posts: 2564

PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2003 6:01 pm (14 years, 7 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Here's a screenshot, just to give you an idea:

Image

________________________________
Image
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by DanielSend Personal Message
adam
Forum Moderator & Developer



Joined: 26 Jul 2002
Posts: 704
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2003 6:03 pm (14 years, 7 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

eurgh...that's bad...hope you get it fixed soon Smile

________________________________
It's turtles all the way down...
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by adamSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's Website
Daniel
Team Member



Joined: 06 Jan 2002
Posts: 2564

PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2003 6:12 pm (14 years, 7 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

And remember's the full screen mode (did that so you don't see all my links Razz)!! Smile

Anyway, I'm going to fax iiyama the screen receipt tomorrow, and then all that has to be done is make an appointment for them to deliver a new one and take the old one. So I should have the new one by this Friday (fingers crossed Very Happy).

________________________________
Image
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by DanielSend Personal Message
jayant
Team Member



Joined: 07 Jan 2002
Posts: 262
Location: New Delhi, India

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2003 3:11 am (14 years, 7 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

I am in a situation of Daniel+Justin.

My monitor LG 17" Flatron is down since last 6 days. Haven't complained of it yet since part1 of my semester exams were going on. Will complain today/tommorow. part2 of exams might be from 17-28 may.

________________________________
Jayant Kumar
Member of the 4WebHelp Team
Nibble Guru - Computing Queries Demystified
GZip/ Page Compression Test
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by jayantSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's WebsiteYahoo MessengerMSN Messenger
Darren
Team Member



Joined: 05 Feb 2002
Posts: 549
Location: London

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2003 7:31 am (14 years, 7 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

The colours not so bad, its the resolution that must be the killer!

BTW that screen shot contains a few more than 16 colours - 125 to be precise. Question
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by DarrenSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's Website
Justin
4WebHelp Addict
4WebHelp Addict


Joined: 07 Jan 2002
Posts: 1060

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2003 8:22 am (14 years, 7 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

It looks like 256 colors rather than 16, you wouldn't get half them shades with 16, I browsed with 16 a while back, and it was much worse than that!
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by JustinSend Personal MessageSend email
Daniel
Team Member



Joined: 06 Jan 2002
Posts: 2564

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2003 1:57 pm (14 years, 7 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Yes, I figured out shortly after I posted that I could push the screen to 256 colours Smile. Still not great, and as Darren said, the resolution is the real killer Sad.

________________________________
Image
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by DanielSend Personal Message
Justin
4WebHelp Addict
4WebHelp Addict


Joined: 07 Jan 2002
Posts: 1060

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2003 3:54 pm (14 years, 7 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Just to see if I could cope, I made my Windows look exactly like Windows 95 at 800x600 and 256 colours, your compaq monitor, if it is 256 colors, can do 800x600 too...
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by JustinSend Personal MessageSend email
Daniel
Team Member



Joined: 06 Jan 2002
Posts: 2564

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2003 3:56 pm (14 years, 7 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

I just tried it, and it won't do it. It just displays loads of lines and makes a hissing noise Rolling Eyes

________________________________
Image
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by DanielSend Personal Message
Justin
4WebHelp Addict
4WebHelp Addict


Joined: 07 Jan 2002
Posts: 1060

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2003 3:59 pm (14 years, 7 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

ouch, that doesn't sound good!
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by JustinSend Personal MessageSend email
SfCommand
Senior WebHelper
Senior WebHelper


Joined: 10 Nov 2002
Posts: 143
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2003 4:34 pm (14 years, 7 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Justin wrote:
Just to see if I could cope, I made my Windows look exactly like Windows 95 at 800x600 and 256 colours, your compaq monitor, if it is 256 colors, can do 800x600 too...

Where you delibrately trying to torture yourself? Wink My monitor lives at 1152*864 with 32bit True colour Very Happy

________________________________
Miguel

http://community.34sp.com
http://www.miguel.me.uk | http://www.sfcommand.co.uk | http://www.ssdg.org.uk
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by SfCommandSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's Website
Justin
4WebHelp Addict
4WebHelp Addict


Joined: 07 Jan 2002
Posts: 1060

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2003 4:46 pm (14 years, 7 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

My LG 17" runs at 32 BIT Colour at 1024x768
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by JustinSend Personal MessageSend email
Display posts from previous:      
Post New TopicReply to Topic
View Previous Topic Print this topic View Next Topic


 Jump to:   


Go to page 1, 2  Next

You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.


Page generation time: 0.054316 seconds :: 17 queries executed :: All Times are GMT
Powered by phpBB 2.0 © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: Based on an FI Theme