4WebHelp
 FAQ  •  Search  •  User Groups  •  Forum Admins  •  Smilies List  •  Statistics  •  Rules   •  Login   •  Register
Toggle Navigation Menu

 [Fixed?] IP Atlas Problems
Post New TopicReply to Topic
View Previous Topic Print this topic View Next Topic
Author Message
Daniel
Team Member



Joined: 06 Jan 2002
Posts: 2564

PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2003 10:30 am (14 years, 8 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

You may have recently tried to use the IP Atlas tool available in the Online Tools section of our site.

This has not been working for a number of reasons:
  1. It uses a third-party service called NetGeo to place the IPs on a map, and this service seems to have been down recently.
  2. The script uses CSS to place the "red dot" on the map. However the CSS it was producing was invalid, as it was giving measures without their units (ie: 5 instead of 5px). This has now been corrected.
  3. However there still remains IPs which the script cannot place on a map. This is simply because (to the best of my knowledge), it performs a whois lookup on the IP, so if the whois records are blank, it cannot place it.

Please let me know if you are still encountering troubles with this script.

________________________________
Image

Last edited by Daniel on Sun Apr 13, 2003 5:47 pm, edited 1 time in total
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by DanielSend Personal Message
Justin
4WebHelp Addict
4WebHelp Addict


Joined: 07 Jan 2002
Posts: 1060

PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2003 12:18 pm (14 years, 8 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Like This?
(213.78.85.218) is located in Amsterdam, North Holland (province), Netherlands. (52.35, 4.90)

Damn, I didn't know I was in Holland!
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by JustinSend Personal MessageSend email
Daniel
Team Member



Joined: 06 Jan 2002
Posts: 2564

PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2003 12:48 pm (14 years, 8 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

That's where your IP is registered Justin Very Happy

http://netgeo.caida.org/perl/netgeo.cgi?target=213.78.85.218

BTW I can't find the hostname for that IP either... Confused

________________________________
Image
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by DanielSend Personal Message
Justin
4WebHelp Addict
4WebHelp Addict


Joined: 07 Jan 2002
Posts: 1060

PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2003 12:57 pm (14 years, 8 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

213-78-85-218.friaco.onetel.net.uk
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by JustinSend Personal MessageSend email
WebSketcher
WebHelper
WebHelper


Joined: 14 Jan 2002
Posts: 95
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2003 6:01 pm (14 years, 8 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Same problem for me!!

I installed v1.0 two days ago and I thought that it was a problem with my server! So I came here to 4WebHelp and, unfortunately, I found the same error message!!

I hope they will resolve this matter soon!
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by WebSketcherSend Personal MessageSend email
jayant
Team Member



Joined: 07 Jan 2002
Posts: 262
Location: New Delhi, India

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2003 5:02 pm (14 years, 7 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

It seems problem is sorted out and it is working again. Try it and inform if you are facing the problem.

________________________________
Jayant Kumar
Member of the 4WebHelp Team
Nibble Guru - Computing Queries Demystified
GZip/ Page Compression Test
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by jayantSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's WebsiteYahoo MessengerMSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:      
Post New TopicReply to Topic
View Previous Topic Print this topic View Next Topic


 Jump to:   




You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.


Page generation time: 0.05912 seconds :: 17 queries executed :: All Times are GMT
Powered by phpBB 2.0 © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: Based on an FI Theme