4WebHelp
 FAQ  •  Search  •  User Groups  •  Forum Admins  •  Smilies List  •  Statistics  •  Rules   •  Login   •  Register
Toggle Navigation Menu
Please consider registering: registration is fast, easy and free! Benefits of registration:
  • Free advertising for your website: Every post in our forums goes towards a "credit" of ads, which are displayed on most pages of our forums. Each post gives you 400 ad impressions. To submit your ad, edit your profile.
  • Discount at TemplateMonster: All our members enjoy a 10% discount at TemplateMonster.com!
  • Private Messages: Exchange private messages with other members of the forums.
  • Message Tracking/Subscription: phpBB enables you to subscribe to threads which interest you, and will then email you when a reply is posted. phpBB also remembers which posts registered users have read during a session, which means you can keep track of which posts you have already looked at.

 Spam Via F2S
Post New TopicReply to Topic
View Previous Topic Print this topic View Next Topic
Author Message
billdavies
Senior WebHelper
Senior WebHelper


Joined: 22 Jan 2002
Posts: 128
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2002 5:22 pm (10 years, 6 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

This is stupid. In the last couple of days I keep getting spam from people somehow sending stuff through F2S. They send it to Friends@server0053.freedom2surf.net and it reaches me.

Is anyone else having a problem like this?

Bill
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by billdaviesSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's WebsiteMSN Messenger
Daniel
Team Member



Joined: 06 Jan 2002
Posts: 2192
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2002 5:23 pm (10 years, 6 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Have you tried emailing Friends@server0053.freedom2surf.net to see if that actually goes to you? Otherwise they're emailing you through the BCC (blind carbon copy).

________________________________
Image
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by DanielSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's Website
billdavies
Senior WebHelper
Senior WebHelper


Joined: 22 Jan 2002
Posts: 128
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2002 5:30 pm (10 years, 6 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

I just tried and it is an unknown user. Where can I go from here?

I tried phoning F2S but they are engaged of course. Probably to stop me trying to cancel my account...!
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by billdaviesSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's WebsiteMSN Messenger
Daniel
Team Member



Joined: 06 Jan 2002
Posts: 2192
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2002 5:41 pm (10 years, 6 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Then you can't really be sure it's F2S' fault... There will always be people sending spam... Sad But if you're sure it was sent through F2S (look at the headers), then try emailing abuse@freedom2surf.net.

________________________________
Image
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by DanielSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's Website
billdavies
Senior WebHelper
Senior WebHelper


Joined: 22 Jan 2002
Posts: 128
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2002 6:17 pm (10 years, 6 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

How do I look at the headers and what am I looking for?

Bill
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by billdaviesSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's WebsiteMSN Messenger
Daniel
Team Member



Joined: 06 Jan 2002
Posts: 2192
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2002 6:19 pm (10 years, 6 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

What mail client are you using?

________________________________
Image
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by DanielSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's Website
billdavies
Senior WebHelper
Senior WebHelper


Joined: 22 Jan 2002
Posts: 128
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2002 6:37 pm (10 years, 6 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Outlook Express. I would try and use F2S Webmail thingy but I can't really as it wasn't sent to one of my email addresses.
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by billdaviesSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's WebsiteMSN Messenger
Daniel
Team Member



Joined: 06 Jan 2002
Posts: 2192
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2002 6:50 pm (10 years, 6 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Right click on the message, click on "Properties", go into the "Details" tab, and post the contents of the box. That should tell us at least if the person's ISP is F2S.

________________________________
Image
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by DanielSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's Website
billdavies
Senior WebHelper
Senior WebHelper


Joined: 22 Jan 2002
Posts: 128
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2002 7:11 pm (10 years, 6 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

It said

X-Sieve: cmu-sieve 2.0
Return-Path: <NewStuff4you@hotmail.com>
Received: from server0053.freedom2surf.net (server0053.freedom2surf.net [194.106.56.142])
by server0012.freedom2surf.net (8.9.3/8.9.3/Debian 8.9.3-21) with ESMTP id BAA05571
for <eoguild@f2s.com>; Fri, 1 Nov 2002 01:10:57 GMT
From: NewStuff4you@hotmail.com
Received: from hotmail.com (200-207-131-21.dsl.telesp.net.br [200.207.131.21])
by server0053.freedom2surf.net (8.9.3/8.9.3/Debian/GNU/f2s) with SMTP id BAA23989
for <eoguild@f2s.com>; Fri, 1 Nov 2002 01:12:23 GMT
Reply-To: <NewStuff4you@hotmail.com>
Message-ID: <014d37d32a5c$6157b1b8$5ed31cc0@uunqub>
To: Friends@server0053.freedom2surf.net
Subject: Hot Like Never Before
Date: Fri, 01 Nov 2002 13:00:12 -0900
MiME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/html; charset="iso-8859-1"
X-Priority: 3 (Normal)
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook, Build 10.0.2616
Importance: Normal

From what I can see, it was sent to one of my email addresses so why didn't it just say that?

Bill
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by billdaviesSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's WebsiteMSN Messenger
Daniel
Team Member



Joined: 06 Jan 2002
Posts: 2192
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2002 7:13 pm (10 years, 6 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Is eoguild@f2s.com one of your addresses?

________________________________
Image
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by DanielSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's Website
Justin
4WebHelp Addict
4WebHelp Addict


Joined: 07 Jan 2002
Posts: 991

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2002 7:37 pm (10 years, 6 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

server53 is the sever that does the sendmail function from PHP, so it could be from any users website........
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by JustinSend Personal MessageSend email
billdavies
Senior WebHelper
Senior WebHelper


Joined: 22 Jan 2002
Posts: 128
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2002 10:08 pm (10 years, 6 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Yes, it is mine. This is the second time this happened, the last one looked like this:

X-Sieve: cmu-sieve 2.0
Return-Path: <Angelica234@aol.com>
Received: from server0010.freedom2surf.net (server0010.freedom2surf.net [194.106.56.10])
by server0012.freedom2surf.net (8.9.3/8.9.3/Debian 8.9.3-21) with ESMTP id GAA07605
for <eoguild@f2s.com>; Mon, 28 Oct 2002 06:48:27 GMT
From: Angelica234@aol.com
Received: from aol.com ([218.76.246.63])
by server0010.freedom2surf.net (8.9.3/8.9.3/Debian/GNU/f2s) with SMTP id GAA24646
for <eoguild@f2s.com>; Mon, 28 Oct 2002 06:49:59 GMT
Reply-To: <Angelica234@aol.com>
Message-ID: <010c06a26e2a$2333e3c7$4da20bb5@wpppje>
To: Friends....@server0010.freedom2surf.net
Subject: NewsGroups, please help
Date: Mon, 28 Oct 2002 02:49:12 +0700
MiME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain;
charset="iso-8859-1"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
X-Priority: 3 (Normal)
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
X-Mailer: MIME-tools 5.503 (Entity 5.501)
Importance: Normal

Bill
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by billdaviesSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's WebsiteMSN Messenger
roly
Senior WebHelper
Senior WebHelper


Joined: 08 Jan 2002
Posts: 150

PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2002 8:02 am (10 years, 6 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Actualy, look at headers, not from, that "Angelica" spammer is putting fake addys in from, example that spammer sent a spam to me claiming to come from Friends@myserver
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by rolySend Personal MessageSend email
roly
Senior WebHelper
Senior WebHelper


Joined: 08 Jan 2002
Posts: 150

PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2002 8:03 am (10 years, 6 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

And according to headers its coming from 218.76.246.63, which is CHINANET-HN
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by rolySend Personal MessageSend email
roly
Senior WebHelper
Senior WebHelper


Joined: 08 Jan 2002
Posts: 150

PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2002 8:04 am (10 years, 6 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

... although when the spam comes from F2S/advertises a site on F2S, F2S doesn't really care, newspaperclipping.f2s.com spammers only got shut down when the free service went bye bye, F2S ignored abuse reports about newspaperclipping.f2s.com
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by rolySend Personal MessageSend email
Display posts from previous:      
Post New TopicReply to Topic
View Previous Topic Print this topic View Next Topic


 Jump to:   


Go to page 1, 2  Next

You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.


Page generation time: 0.03027 seconds :: 17 queries executed :: All Times are GMT
Powered by phpBB 2.0 © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: Based on an FI Theme