4WebHelp
 FAQ  •  Search  •  User Groups  •  Forum Admins  •  Smilies List  •  Statistics  •  Rules   •  Login   •  Register
Toggle Navigation Menu

 Forms - Getting Rid of the Blank Line Underneath them!
Post New TopicReply to Topic
View Previous Topic Print this topic View Next Topic
Author Message
Justin
4WebHelp Addict
4WebHelp Addict


Joined: 07 Jan 2002
Posts: 1060

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 5:28 pm (15 years ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Hi

Was just wondering how you got rid of the blank line underneath them, eg, what would I have to change here :

http://www.freedom2support.co.uk/includes/topbar.php

to get rid of the blank line?

Cheers!

Justin
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by JustinSend Personal MessageSend email
Daniel
Team Member



Joined: 06 Jan 2002
Posts: 2564

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 5:37 pm (15 years ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

What I usually do is start off the form before the stuff to go in it... Not sure if that's valid HTML, but that's what I do. Like this:

Code:
<form>
<tr>
<td>
Bla Bla
</td>
</tr>
</form>

________________________________
Image
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by DanielSend Personal Message
adam
Forum Moderator & Developer



Joined: 26 Jul 2002
Posts: 704
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 5:51 pm (15 years ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

when you say 'blank line' what do you mean exactly? not sure I understand...

________________________________
It's turtles all the way down...
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by adamSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's Website
Daniel
Team Member



Joined: 06 Jan 2002
Posts: 2564

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 5:53 pm (15 years ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Most browsers ad some blank space after a form tag. Don't know why, but that's what they do. I wish they wouldn't, but that can't be changed Sad

________________________________
Image
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by DanielSend Personal Message
adam
Forum Moderator & Developer



Joined: 26 Jul 2002
Posts: 704
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 5:59 pm (15 years ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

ohh...I think I get it now Very Happy

I think the best thing to do is to just enclose the entire table in the <form> tag, as far as I know that's valid HTML, unlike what Daniel suggested Razz

________________________________
It's turtles all the way down...
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by adamSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's Website
Daniel
Team Member



Joined: 06 Jan 2002
Posts: 2564

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 6:00 pm (15 years ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Well that's basically like what I suggested, but it means you can only have one form in your table Smile

________________________________
Image
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by DanielSend Personal Message
adam
Forum Moderator & Developer



Joined: 26 Jul 2002
Posts: 704
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 6:07 pm (15 years ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

well, he only needs one form in the table...

________________________________
It's turtles all the way down...
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by adamSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's Website
Justin
4WebHelp Addict
4WebHelp Addict


Joined: 07 Jan 2002
Posts: 1060

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 6:08 pm (15 years ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

thanks, that is the most annoying thing in the world to me at the moment!
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by JustinSend Personal MessageSend email
Justin
4WebHelp Addict
4WebHelp Addict


Joined: 07 Jan 2002
Posts: 1060

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2002 6:09 pm (15 years ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

That message was to Daniel's original post by the way, as that is the method I used in the end - solved a big headache!
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by JustinSend Personal MessageSend email
verto
Senior WebHelper
Senior WebHelper


Joined: 14 Jan 2002
Posts: 220
Location: Cambridge MA USA

PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2002 1:58 am (15 years ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Justin wrote:
Hi

Was just wondering how you got rid of the blank line underneath them, eg, what would I have to change here :

http://www.freedom2support.co.uk/includes/topbar.php

to get rid of the blank line?

Daniel's method of putting the form tags outside a table is one I often use myself, and yes, Daniel, it's valid. Some problems with it, though, include only getting one form in that table and also the fact that you still get some blank space outside of your table (usually both above AND below the table) -- but not in all browsers. Rolling Eyes

________________________________
>>>>>>>>>>>>>
GENERAL DISCLAIMER:This disclaimer may be void where null in all cases unless explicitly not unprohibited or (p)re-exclusively assigned by sufficient presedimentation on behalf of every non-interested party to wit (or so it was said).
:::
.: :. . : :....: :.: .: :. verto .: :. . : :....: :.: .: :.
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by vertoSend Personal Message
Daniel
Team Member



Joined: 06 Jan 2002
Posts: 2564

PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2002 8:16 am (15 years ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

No, the whole point of my method versus Adam's is that it allows you to have one table per row... And you could probably change it to allow one table per cell...

________________________________
Image
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by DanielSend Personal Message
verto
Senior WebHelper
Senior WebHelper


Joined: 14 Jan 2002
Posts: 220
Location: Cambridge MA USA

PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2002 10:03 pm (15 years ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Daniel wrote:
No, the whole point of my method versus Adam's is that it allows you to have one table per row... And you could probably change it to allow one table per cell...

Thanks for pointing that out, Daniel. Actually, I didn't even read your code, and had assumed that you were talking about the exact same method as Adam was. I think I may've got that notion from your post later on down where you said:

Daniel wrote:
Well that's basically like what I suggested, but it means you can only have one form in your table Smile

________________________________
>>>>>>>>>>>>>
GENERAL DISCLAIMER:This disclaimer may be void where null in all cases unless explicitly not unprohibited or (p)re-exclusively assigned by sufficient presedimentation on behalf of every non-interested party to wit (or so it was said).
:::
.: :. . : :....: :.: .: :. verto .: :. . : :....: :.: .: :.
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by vertoSend Personal Message
Display posts from previous:      
Post New TopicReply to Topic
View Previous Topic Print this topic View Next Topic


 Jump to:   




You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.


Page generation time: 0.066523 seconds :: 17 queries executed :: All Times are GMT
Powered by phpBB 2.0 © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: Based on an FI Theme