4WebHelp
 FAQ  •  Search  •  User Groups  •  Forum Admins  •  Smilies List  •  Statistics  •  Rules   •  Login   •  Register
Toggle Navigation Menu

 Targetting a button
Post New TopicReply to Topic
View Previous Topic Print this topic View Next Topic
Author Message
fgidigi
Junior WebHelper
Junior WebHelper


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 7:05 pm (11 years, 1 month ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Hey there,

I am building this website with its own search engine.

Now I have a button [standard-input-FrontPage button] that I want to open in an iframe. I tried putting this button outside the iframe and it opens a blank page. But I want customers to see the results inside the iframe, which is on that same page.

so I tried putting the searchbutton in the iframe-page itself, but no matter what I do - the darn thing keeps opening in a new blank page.

The Button, in frontpage, does not have a menu to set a target, at least not in frontpage, so I did it it in the html code like this :

<form method=get action="javascript:void(0)" onsubmit="search(this); return false;">
<tr><td>
<div style="position: absolute; top: 102; left: 11; width: 659; height: 27">
<input type=text name=srchval value="" size="13">
<input type=submit value="Search" target="iframe"></td></tr>
</div>
</form>


It still doesnt work Crying or Very sad

Can anyone help me out? Maybe it is not possible to target a button???

thanx! /FIGIDIGI Wink
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by fgidigiSend Personal Message
Robert Wellock
WebHelper
WebHelper


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 61
Location: Yorkshire - UK

PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 2:11 pm (11 years, 1 month ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

I cannot quite follow exactly what you are trying to do or which scripting language you are using but you may have to add an id attribute. I also assume you have given the iframe a name or id attribute too.

________________________________
};-) http://www.xhtmlcoder.com/
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by Robert WellockSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's Website
fgidigi
Junior WebHelper
Junior WebHelper


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2006 10:28 am (11 years, 1 month ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Hi Robert,

I was not using any scripting language, just plain html with frontpage 2003. You ID tip did the trick. I just forgot to name that one.

Following your lead, while testing, I stumbled up a menu I had seen 1000 times before, but had not looked upon it close enough ...
There it was ... at the very bottom of the menu a special targetting item, for radio-buttons. So now I know, how to do it in html and using the menu's of frontpage.

I learn every day Very Happy

Thanx 4 ur help --

Figidigi
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by fgidigiSend Personal Message
Robert Wellock
WebHelper
WebHelper


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 61
Location: Yorkshire - UK

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2006 11:44 am (11 years, 1 month ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

No problem. Smile

________________________________
};-) http://www.xhtmlcoder.com/
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by Robert WellockSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's Website
Display posts from previous:      
Post New TopicReply to Topic
View Previous Topic Print this topic View Next Topic


 Jump to:   




You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.


Page generation time: 0.06039 seconds :: 17 queries executed :: All Times are GMT
Powered by phpBB 2.0 © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: Based on an FI Theme