4WebHelp
 FAQ  •  Search  •  User Groups  •  Forum Admins  •  Smilies List  •  Statistics  •  Rules   •  Login   •  Register
Toggle Navigation Menu

 Cable Length???
Post New TopicReply to Topic
View Previous Topic Print this topic View Next Topic
Author Message
lizardman
Invisible Member
Invisible Member


Joined: 10 Sep 2003
Posts: 0
Location: London

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2004 2:47 pm (13 years, 8 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

I need to know the maximum cable length I can run from an ADSL router to a PC. Can any body help?
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by lizardmanSend Personal Message
adam
Forum Moderator & Developer



Joined: 26 Jul 2002
Posts: 704
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2004 4:59 pm (13 years, 8 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

I'm no expert, but I would think that the max length is governed only by the length of cable you can buy (of course, if the cable was several miles long you might have problems, but I doubt you're thinking of anything that long).

________________________________
It's turtles all the way down...
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by adamSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's Website
benn
Junior WebHelper
Junior WebHelper


Joined: 06 Dec 2003
Posts: 14
Location: uk

PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2004 7:23 pm (13 years, 8 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

out of intrest what are you looking to do with a huge cable?

________________________________
With Great Power Comes Great Responsibility
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by bennSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's Website
Daniel
Team Member



Joined: 06 Jan 2002
Posts: 2564

PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2004 7:52 pm (13 years, 8 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Maybe run it between two houses? Smile

________________________________
Image
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by DanielSend Personal Message
benn
Junior WebHelper
Junior WebHelper


Joined: 06 Dec 2003
Posts: 14
Location: uk

PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2004 9:05 pm (13 years, 8 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

lol ok, my house is attached to my mom and dads, but it it a pretty long way and i have a cable running from my computer into their house and into my sisters computer and thats about 40-50 ft of cable... and it's tottally fine..

________________________________
With Great Power Comes Great Responsibility
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by bennSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's Website
rjohn
Junior WebHelper
Junior WebHelper


Joined: 10 Oct 2004
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 8:06 pm (13 years ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

If you mean the UTP network cable you can run it up to 100m but you should be aware of running UTP network cables between seperate buildings on seperate power supplies! Twisted Evil
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by rjohnSend Personal Message
Display posts from previous:      
Post New TopicReply to Topic
View Previous Topic Print this topic View Next Topic


 Jump to:   




You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.


Page generation time: 0.052475 seconds :: 17 queries executed :: All Times are GMT
Powered by phpBB 2.0 © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: Based on an FI Theme