4WebHelp
 FAQ  •  Search  •  User Groups  •  Forum Admins  •  Smilies List  •  Statistics  •  Rules   •  Login   •  Register
Toggle Navigation Menu

 IP address to domain name
Post New TopicReply to Topic
View Previous Topic Print this topic View Next Topic
Author Message
guyrollz
Junior WebHelper
Junior WebHelper


Joined: 29 Jun 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 2:06 pm (13 years, 3 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Just wondering how I can get my home server IP address, lets say 64.23.19.119 to like CheeseIsCool.com or CheeseIsCool.MySite.com. Im running XP Home on my home server, what program might I need.

As of now I have the following running on my server.
-Apache
-PHP
-PHPMyAdmin
-SQL
-FTP Prog
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by guyrollzSend Personal Message
NHDriver4
Junior WebHelper
Junior WebHelper


Joined: 29 Jun 2004
Posts: 2
Location: New Hampshire, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm (13 years, 3 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

If you want cheeseiscool.com, you would need to buy that domain through a registrar, like Network Solutions.

I would recomend visting The DNS2GO website. I've used their service for almost 2 years now, and never have issues. There is a small price, but well worth it.

Also, FYI: Most home broadband companies do not allow servers to be on their networks. Check the terms before, or your connection could be shut off.

________________________________
Mat
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by NHDriver4Send Personal MessageVisit Poster's WebsiteAOL Instant Messenger
Daniel
Team Member



Joined: 06 Jan 2002
Posts: 2564

PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:58 pm (13 years, 3 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

http://www.dyndns.org/ is my personal favourite Smile

And I wouldn't recommend registering a domain name with Network Solutions anymore: they charge $35/year, while there are many companies doing it for $9-10. Try http://www.namecheap.com or http://www.godaddy.com/.

________________________________
Image
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by DanielSend Personal Message
adam
Forum Moderator & Developer



Joined: 26 Jul 2002
Posts: 704
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 5:48 pm (13 years, 3 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

I personally use Registerfly and ZoneEdit

________________________________
It's turtles all the way down...
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by adamSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's Website
guyrollz
Junior WebHelper
Junior WebHelper


Joined: 29 Jun 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 6:43 pm (13 years, 3 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

My ISP doesnt care if I have it, but would I just put my IP as the nameserver or would I need something to change that?
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by guyrollzSend Personal Message
NHDriver4
Junior WebHelper
Junior WebHelper


Joined: 29 Jun 2004
Posts: 2
Location: New Hampshire, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 7:04 pm (13 years, 3 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

If you use one of the DNS services like ZoneEdit or DynDNS, they will instruct you where to point your namesever. Dont put your IP in there unless you are running a DNS server.

________________________________
Mat
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by NHDriver4Send Personal MessageVisit Poster's WebsiteAOL Instant Messenger
Display posts from previous:      
Post New TopicReply to Topic
View Previous Topic Print this topic View Next Topic


 Jump to:   




You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.


Page generation time: 0.048815 seconds :: 17 queries executed :: All Times are GMT
Powered by phpBB 2.0 © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: Based on an FI Theme