4WebHelp
 FAQ  •  Search  •  User Groups  •  Forum Admins  •  Smilies List  •  Statistics  •  Rules   •  Login   •  Register
Toggle Navigation Menu

 chmod ing folders
Post New TopicReply to Topic
View Previous Topic Print this topic View Next Topic
Author Message
domuk
WebHelper
WebHelper


Joined: 15 Jan 2004
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 2:24 pm (13 years, 10 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

I am setting up a CGI application (textcounter) and the read me file suggests that I chmod the directory. I am using smartFTP and have been through the smartftp tutorial on how to chmod. However it does not explain how to chmod a directory. I have tried the command line with:

site chmod 777 /home/httpd/vhosts/mysite.co.uk/cgi-bin/textcounter

and it returns the error message:

550 /home/httpd/vhosts/mysite.co.uk/cgi-bin/textcounter: No such file or directory

Is this the correct way to chmod a dir or have I just wrongly specified the path?

Your help is appreciated,

Dom
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by domukSend Personal Message
Daniel
Team Member



Joined: 06 Jan 2002
Posts: 2564

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 3:50 pm (13 years, 10 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Have you tried following these instructions, and applying them to a directory?

http://www.4webhelp.net/chmod/smartftp.html

________________________________
Image
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by DanielSend Personal Message
domuk
WebHelper
WebHelper


Joined: 15 Jan 2004
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 4:14 pm (13 years, 10 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Daniel,

I do not think you can do that to folders.

I have just figured it out. It works if you do this in the command line:

Code:
site chmod 777 /cgi-bin/textcounter/

However the aplication still does not work.... Crying or Very sad


I have posted another question a few moments ago.

Can you help me with that?

Hope so,

Dom.
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by domukSend Personal Message
adam
Forum Moderator & Developer



Joined: 26 Jul 2002
Posts: 704
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 5:15 pm (13 years, 10 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

there's no way it'll run world-writable scripts, try chmod 755

________________________________
It's turtles all the way down...
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by adamSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's Website
domuk
WebHelper
WebHelper


Joined: 15 Jan 2004
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 5:51 pm (13 years, 10 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Hi adam,

the notes sugest 777

I have tried 755 on the file and dir and it still does not work..

>cgi-bin (folder)(drwxr-x--- (dr=dir, w=write, x=execute, r=read, -=?, x=execute, -=?,-=?,-=?))


>>>textcounter folder (755)


>>>>>>>file.cgi (755)

Do i understand you correctly?

Dom.
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by domukSend Personal Message
adam
Forum Moderator & Developer



Joined: 26 Jul 2002
Posts: 704
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 7:10 pm (13 years, 10 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

if it's listing it as drwxr-x--- then it's 750, which means the web server can neither read nor execute anything in that directory.

also, what do the apache error logs say? (if anything)

________________________________
It's turtles all the way down...
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by adamSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's Website
domuk
WebHelper
WebHelper


Joined: 15 Jan 2004
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2004 10:28 pm (13 years, 10 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

This is what the log within smartFTP suggested when i tried to CHMOD the cgi bin to 755. You suggested that it was 750
Code:
(drwxr-x---)
and that it would not work.


Code:
SITE chmod 755 /cgi-bin/

200 SITE CHMOD command successful
    CWD /cgi-bin/cgi-bin

250 CWD command successful.
    PWD

257 "/cgi-bin/cgi-bin" is current directory.
   



Any ideas as what could be wrong?

Thanks in advance,

Dom..
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by domukSend Personal Message
domuk
WebHelper
WebHelper


Joined: 15 Jan 2004
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2004 10:20 am (13 years, 9 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Thanks Adam for your help!!

I Deleted everything in my cgi bin and double checked everything and it worked.

I think it was the way i was calling it.

Thanks again, i appreciate your help,

Dom..
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by domukSend Personal Message
domuk
WebHelper
WebHelper


Joined: 15 Jan 2004
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2004 10:24 am (13 years, 9 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Thanks Daniel

I am just so pleased that i got it working!!! I want to thank everyone !!

Ps I found this site good for wood heads like me:

http://perl.about.com/library/weekly/aa010902d.htm
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by domukSend Personal Message
Display posts from previous:      
Post New TopicReply to Topic
View Previous Topic Print this topic View Next Topic


 Jump to:   




You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.


Page generation time: 0.050496 seconds :: 18 queries executed :: All Times are GMT
Powered by phpBB 2.0 © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: Based on an FI Theme