4WebHelp
 FAQ  •  Search  •  User Groups  •  Forum Admins  •  Smilies List  •  Statistics  •  Rules   •  Login   •  Register
Toggle Navigation Menu

 Freedom2Support Forums (vB Edition)
Post New TopicReply to Topic
View Previous Topic Print this topic View Next Topic
Author Message
Ben
Senior WebHelper
Senior WebHelper


Joined: 08 Jan 2002
Posts: 431
Location: Liverpool - UK

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 2:41 am (14 years ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

<troll>
You should upgrade to smf Wink
</troll>

________________________________
Ben Scott

Red and White Kop
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by BenSend Personal MessageSend emailVisit Poster's Website
Daniel
Team Member



Joined: 06 Jan 2002
Posts: 2564

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 7:29 am (13 years, 12 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Ben wrote:
<troll>
You should upgrade to smf Wink
</troll>


After buying a vB license I doubt that's a reasonable option. Wink

________________________________
Image
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by DanielSend Personal Message
adam
Forum Moderator & Developer



Joined: 26 Jul 2002
Posts: 704
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 10:37 am (13 years, 12 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

SfCommand wrote:
Doen't seem any slower for me in IE than in mozilla. (However in mozilla some of the 'Go To Last Post' images are not fully displayed. http://home.miguel.me.uk/f2s.png )

the images seem to work fine in firebird...

________________________________
It's turtles all the way down...
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by adamSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's Website
SfCommand
Senior WebHelper
Senior WebHelper


Joined: 10 Nov 2002
Posts: 143
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 11:45 am (13 years, 12 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

It's probably just a peculiarity to my computer/mozilla install.
I had (have) one where I can see images hotlinked in tripod member space, but everyone else (including other computers on my network) see a Tripod logo! Daniel's possibly seen the thread on the 34SP forum Smile

________________________________
Miguel

http://community.34sp.com
http://www.miguel.me.uk | http://www.sfcommand.co.uk | http://www.ssdg.org.uk
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by SfCommandSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's Website
Justin
4WebHelp Addict
4WebHelp Addict


Joined: 07 Jan 2002
Posts: 1060

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 12:50 pm (13 years, 12 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

The Peformance in IE was shocking, it was taking at least 5 seconds to load a page on the new version, in firebird/mozilla it was lightning fast.

Funny thing is I can view all other vB3 forums in IE fine without any slowdown, just not my freedom2support version Sad
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by JustinSend Personal MessageSend email
Ben
Senior WebHelper
Senior WebHelper


Joined: 08 Jan 2002
Posts: 431
Location: Liverpool - UK

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 1:17 pm (13 years, 12 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

was taking about 2 seconds here.

________________________________
Ben Scott

Red and White Kop
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by BenSend Personal MessageSend emailVisit Poster's Website
Justin
4WebHelp Addict
4WebHelp Addict


Joined: 07 Jan 2002
Posts: 1060

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 1:51 pm (13 years, 12 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Was taking five here, whereas it was pretty much instant for vb 2.3.3, it may just be my IE that is totally **** (I wouldn't be suprised), only happened that way in IE though, I'm guessing my IE may be ****.
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by JustinSend Personal MessageSend email
Ben
Senior WebHelper
Senior WebHelper


Joined: 08 Jan 2002
Posts: 431
Location: Liverpool - UK

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 2:06 pm (13 years, 12 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Does vb have proper tracking of threads you have read yet?

Suppose this is going off topic slightly...

________________________________
Ben Scott

Red and White Kop
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by BenSend Personal MessageSend emailVisit Poster's Website
Daniel
Team Member



Joined: 06 Jan 2002
Posts: 2564

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 2:10 pm (13 years, 12 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Yes, I think it does (at least it works for me). Not sure if it does it during multiple sessions, but it does it during one session (like phpBB). Unfortunately it seems to have the same problem as IPB: it doesn't show a forum as read unless you go into the forum and it sees there are no unread posts in it.

________________________________
Image
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by DanielSend Personal Message
Ben
Senior WebHelper
Senior WebHelper


Joined: 08 Jan 2002
Posts: 431
Location: Liverpool - UK

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 2:37 pm (13 years, 12 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Theres nothing worse than boards that dont do it over multiple sessions, I tend to look at boards over lunch time in work and dont get enough time to read everything on large boards (wht etc) and theres nothing more annoying that it deciding everythings read 20 mins later.

Anyway will shut up since I have dragged this far enough off topic already.

________________________________
Ben Scott

Red and White Kop
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by BenSend Personal MessageSend emailVisit Poster's Website
Justin
4WebHelp Addict
4WebHelp Addict


Joined: 07 Jan 2002
Posts: 1060

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 2:44 pm (13 years, 12 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

There is a setting in the admin control panel I believe to select this in vB3.
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by JustinSend Personal MessageSend email
Daniel
Team Member



Joined: 06 Jan 2002
Posts: 2564

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 5:20 pm (13 years, 12 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

There's also a setting for it in phpBB 2.2 (it stores read topics in the database).

________________________________
Image
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by DanielSend Personal Message
Ben
Senior WebHelper
Senior WebHelper


Joined: 08 Jan 2002
Posts: 431
Location: Liverpool - UK

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 5:42 pm (13 years, 12 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

'Bout time Wink

________________________________
Ben Scott

Red and White Kop
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by BenSend Personal MessageSend emailVisit Poster's Website
Darren
Team Member



Joined: 05 Feb 2002
Posts: 549
Location: London

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 6:35 pm (13 years, 12 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

But can you imagine the size the database is going to get on a big board. Rolling Eyes
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by DarrenSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's Website
Ben
Senior WebHelper
Senior WebHelper


Joined: 08 Jan 2002
Posts: 431
Location: Liverpool - UK

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 6:41 pm (13 years, 12 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

I think its a small price to pay.

My board isnt exactly massive (Total Topics: 21113 Total Posts: 320734) but the space taken to log it server side is only 11mb, to me thats space well used.

If you have a massive massive board then you probably have plenty of space available anyway so it shouldnt be a big problem surely?

________________________________
Ben Scott

Red and White Kop
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by BenSend Personal MessageSend emailVisit Poster's Website
Display posts from previous:      
Post New TopicReply to Topic
View Previous Topic Print this topic View Next Topic


 Jump to:   


Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.


Page generation time: 0.061612 seconds :: 17 queries executed :: All Times are GMT
Powered by phpBB 2.0 © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: Based on an FI Theme